Bombs away!

Plus the Golf Ballad of Ed and Linda

A great golf joke is a joy for everyone, and this one comes from Gary T, one of the subscribers to Finding the Tips.

Ed and Linda met on a singles cruise and Ed fell head over heels for her. When they discovered they lived in the same city, only a few miles apart, Ed was ecstatic.

He immediately started asking her out when they got home. Within a couple of weeks, Ed had taken Linda to dance clubs, restaurants, concerts, movies and museums. Ed became convinced that Linda was indeed his soulmate and true love. Every date seemed better than the last.

On the one-month anniversary of their first dinner on the cruise ship, Ed took Linda to a fine restaurant. While having cocktails and waiting for their salad, Ed said, "I guess you can tell I'm very much in love with you. I'd like a little serious talk before our relationship continues. So, before I get a box out of my jacket and ask you a life changing question, it's only fair to warn you, I'm a total golf nut. I play golf, I read about golf, I watch golf on TV. In short, I eat, sleep, and breathe golf.

“If that's going to be a problem for us, you'd better say so now!"

Linda paused, then responded.

"Ed, that certainly won't be a problem. I love you as you are and I love golf too. But since we're being totally honest with each other, you need to know that for the last five years I've been a hooker."

Ed said, "It's probably because you're not keeping your wrists straight when you hit the ball."

In this issue

  • Five easy fixes = bombs off the tee

  • Wrist set - It happens at address!

  • Golf psychology - Zen golf

  • Chipping - Toe down = up and down

Five easy fixes = bombs off the tee

Mark Crossfield Golf brings us five common mistakes we all make with the driver and how to fix each of them. Each of those fixes will help us hit driver longer, but if they are all applied, the result could be enough to get your golf buddies to ask: “Have you been working out?”

You’ll have to open the video to see the instruction itself, but here are the driver fixes covered in this video:

  1. Driver lie at setup

  2. Applying speed in the backswing

  3. Applying braking forces in the backswing

  4. Back to target longer in downswing

  5. Head behind the ball

The fixes that Mark Crossfield is showing us are easy to put into action. He even gives us some drills to help us enact them.

Wrist set – It happens at address!

Golf psychology - Zen golf

Chipping - Toe down = up and down