Stop being a short hitter

Until just a couple hours before finalizing this edition of Finding the Tips, I was prepared to introduce you to “float loading” in the golf swing. Float loading is a method that helps players make better contact with woods, hybrids and irons. The result is more distance and improved accuracy.

But the promise of even greater driver distance gains seduced me. So there is just one video I’m recommending this week.

I hope you enjoy it!

Stop being a short hitter

Steve Pratt has helped thousands of golfers hit it longer. When it comes to letting the big dog eat, he knows where to find the low hanging fruit on the distance tree.

He demonstrates the follow-through traits of a short hitter to start this video lesson. Short hitters (like me) finish the swing with a bent trail elbow and the clubhead of the driver is below the lead hand. At the same time, the lead elbow is bent into the dreaded chicken wing position. Also, the handle of the club is very close to the abdomen at the end of the swing.

These traits are the result of a swing where the hands are pulling the grip through the hitting area. This delivers very slow clubhead speed.

Instead of pulling the handle of the club, we need to use a throwing motion to send the clubhead forcefully through the impact zone. Steve demonstrates and shows the “throw” with no body turn. He lets the clubhead freely pass the hands, as shown below.

Throw the club

He wants us to practice this throw until we can get the clubhead 90 degrees past the hands every time. The trail arm should be straight, and the elbow of the lead arm should be starting to bend.

Steve then shows us how to perform the throw in tandem with a good body turn. For me, I think about throwing the clubhead using the same throwing motion we use when trying to skip a stone over water.

Steve reminds us that we want to hear the “woosh” sound past our feet, on the target side of impact.

Once more, he demonstrates the swing, this time swinging with very little effort. His Trackman launch monitor records a clubhead speed of 99.8 mph. (Note: Based on info I’ve gathered on Steve’s channel, that clubhead speed is 15-20 mph slower than his typical swing.)

But even with that slower swing speed, Trackman projects the ball carried nearly 259 yards and rolled out to a total distance of nearly 284 yards.

Steve’s Trackman results

So I took a break from writing this week’s edition of Finding the Tips and went into my backyard with a driver. I tried throwing the clubhead out forcefully, with no body movement. I felt the clubhead zipping past my hands. I felt my trail elbow straighten. I felt my lead elbow beginning to fold.

I felt speed! But I wanted to make sure.

I have a PRGR launch monitor. I fired it up and took my normal golf swing with the driver. No ball, just the swing without the pronounced throw.

PRGR reported clubhead speeds of 80-84 mph with my normal swing.

Next I repeated the drill that Steve Pratt recommends. I made sure I was very familiar with feeling the throw. I did the throw swings from an upright, baseball-type swing until they felt familiar and repeatable. Satisfied I could do it, I got into a traditional golf posture and heard the “woosh” on the target side of the swing.

PRGR reported clubhead speeds of 83-87 mph.

According to my launch monitor. I gained about three to four mph in clubhead speed.

Speaking of accuracy, please note that the PRGR launch monitor is an entry level device. It can be purchased today for less than $300. So its accuracy may be in question.

From January through March, I visited a Trackman simulator once or twice a week. Trackman is a $30,000 device and is widely recognized as the gold standard for launch monitors.

Trackman estimated my clubhead speed to be in the range of 88 to 96 mph. It further estimated carry distances between 195 and 218 yards depending on quality of strike, launch angle and spin rate. Total driver distance (carry plus roll) ranged from 210 to 240 yards.

On the golf course this year, I am seeing actual yardages, as reported by my GPS device, that match those estimated by Trackman.

If I add three mph to my driver speed, that could add eight to 10 yards of distance. After just 15 minutes in my back yard.

Watch future editions of Finding the Tips as I will monitor actual driver distance on the golf course.

Hope springs eternal, gentle readers! 😊